Author: Update That Website

In a blog post on Publishers Weekly (@PublishersWkly), Barbara Vey expresses her frustration at authors who don’t keep their websites updated or worse, don’t have a site at all. She says, “To me, being an author is a business and as a business you need people to see the product. What’s available and what’s coming up at the very least.” She says the site doesn’t have to be complicated. “Just something that says I take my job seriously and here’s why you should read my work.”

The next worse thing is an author having a website that’s not updated. I’m embarrassed for them when I see their latest release showing 2003 when I know they’ve written more since then.  I’m not saying to blog something everyday or even update daily, but once a month would be nice. Just a little something to say, “Hey, I’m still here and working hard on getting out my next exciting book.”...[E]ven saying what they’re reading not only updates the web page, it also helps out a fellow writer.

An even easier way is to attach a Twitter feed box. That way, every time you Tweet something it shows up on your website. Instant updating and you only had to type 140 characters (or less).

Read what else she says.